Recipes – Breakfast

Over on ‘Inspire My Life’ I wrote of the concerns and challenges of eating clean. I was worried I wouldn’t like what I was eating, and I didn’t to begin with until I found some of these yummy recipes to delight in. I was worried it would be too hard, take too long, or require ingredients I couldn’t find and didn’t know where else to get. And I was worried it would be too expensive, and I can assure you, it is not!

To read the full post click here! And make sure you throw down a follow to keep up to date with what goes on behind closed doors!

Continuing with the breakfast theme, here are my favourite breakfast recipes. I don’t tend to eat a lot of breakfast and will often stick with a trusted smoothie first thing in the morning. I have never been a big eater (or eater at all in the mornings) so I am training myself to fuel myself for the day. While a smoothie is my usual go-to, these breakfast recipes are fairly quick and easy to make, or can be prepared in advance. Or simply save them for a day when you have a bit more time. I encourage you to change them up and add your own twists. Devour, and enjoy! And if you’re really feeling naughty, swap them out for lunch!

Make these recipe pages your go-to! Keep checking back, they will grow, I promise. Each time I try something new and mouthwatering these pages will be added to!

Vanilla Bean, Cashew & Chia Seed Pudding:

This is a fantastic breakfast that is best prepared the night before. Chia seeds are a great source of omega-3, potassium and are a complete source of protein with all amino acids, which are beneficial for the brain and heart. Combined with coconut, banana and cinnamon, this pudding is a wonderful and delicious way to start the day.

You will need:

  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • 2 cups filtered water
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla paste
  • 1/2 cup of chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • A few pieces of banana, coconut & cinnamon to garnish

In a blender or food processor blend together the cashews, water, salt and vanilla paste until smooth and creamy. Pour into a mixing bowl. Add the chia and maple syrup and mix well with a whisk removing all lumps. Pour the mixture into a glass or jar of choice and refrigerate until set (I do this overnight).

Garnish with banana, cinnamon and coconut.

Serves: 3   Time: 15 min    GF    DF    WF    V    RSF

cs copy.jpg

Breakfast Bowl:

This nutrient dense bowl is a great way to get a big serving of veges and the protein hit eggs and bacon provide, that help keep you full for longer.

You will need:

  • 1 stalk of kale, finely chopped
  • 4 tbsp apple cider vingar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 organic eggs
  • 1 cup baby spinach
  • 1/2 avocado
  • A few cherry tomatoes, halves
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon and chopped fresh chives, to garnish

Place kale in a bowl and massage with 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. Set aside.

Fill a sauce pan with water, place over medium heat and bring to the boils. Add remaining ACV and salt. Reduce heat to a simmer and whisk the water around so that is is swirling. Crack eggs very gently over the pan so that they slide into the water. Wait 4 minutes until the eggs are cooked. While eggs are cooking place the bacon on a tinfoil lined tray and bake in the oven at 180 degrees until cooked to your liking.

Meanwhile, place baby spinach, avocado, tomato and kale in a serving bowl. When the eggs are ready, gently remove from the pan with a slotted spoon and add to the bowl with the cooked bacon.

Garnish with fresh chives and drizzle with lemon juice. Eat immediately!

Serves: 1   Time: 20 min    GF    DF    WF     RSF

 

One thought on “Recipes – Breakfast

Leave a Reply

